About Archuleta County

County Commissioners in Archuleta County are elected at large from one of three geographic districts for four-year staggered terms. The Board establishes the vision and sets the direction for the county government and plan for future challenges that face the County.  The Board provides leadership to County operations through adoptions of the budget which includes all departments, commissions and other spending agencies funded by County appropriations, including law enforcement and human services. 

Counties in Colorado are a constitutional subdivision of state government and can exercise only those powers specifically expressed in statute or in the Constitution. For most purposes Archuleta County acts through its Board. The three-member Board serves as the legislative, policy-making and administrative body governing the unincorporated areas of Archuleta County. 

The County Commissioners work closely with the other elected officials including the Sheriff, Clerk & Recorder, Assessor, Treasurer, Coroner and Surveyor. The Board appoints a County Administrator and County Attorney to carry out the policy directions of the Board and supervise and coordinate the work of staff.