The Archuleta County Sheriff’s Office Patrol Unit is responsible for patrolling unincorporated Archuleta County, an area of approximately 1,300 square miles within Archuleta County. This area ranges from Conejos County to the East, Mineral and Hinsdale Counties to the North, La Plata County to the West, and to the New Mexico State Line in the South.

The Archuleta County Sheriff’s Office employs fourteen certified deputies in patrol; this includes two Sergeants, 2 Detectives, and 11 Patrol Deputies. The Sheriff’s Office has the philosophy of community policing and in accordance with those guiding principles, Patrol Deputies are assigned to patrol all areas on a continuing, routine basis. The community policing philosophy also has Patrol Deputies working to be a part of the community to assist the citizens in resolving the problems that affect the quality of life of that area. In an effort to be part of the community, the Sheriff’s Office regularly participates in the neighborhood and ranch watch areas that are established throughout the county. The Deputies view themselves as partners in the communities they serve and can provide citizens with resources beyond strictly those relevant to law enforcement. Patrol Deputies welcome the many opportunities to meet with the citizens in their assigned areas and appreciate citizen contact no matter the circumstances.

Patrol Deputies conduct the initial criminal investigations on a variety of calls, including crimes against persons, crimes against property, and conduct follow up investigations on misdemeanor offenses, as well as assist the Detectives as needed on felony cases. DUI and traffic enforcement are also a part of their regular duties. They are also available to assist the local fire, ambulance and other law enforcement agencies in the county. Along with those responsibilities, they are charged with serving a process, and when needed conducting a civil stand-by.